How do I submit the things in an inspection I want fixed before closing???

(2) | asked by: Heather Mueller | share | 10 months ago | Report
2500 characters left
Answer Tips: Share your knowledge. Be on-topic . Refrain from self-promotion.
* Refer to our community guidelines.

Answers

Viewing Answers 1 - 14 of 14
answer by Robert Wilson    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Your buyer's agent will be able to assist you with an amendment to contract addressing these issues. Your agent's job is to protect your interest above all others.
0
0
Answer Helpful?
5 months ago  |   Report   |   share
If you are buying a house which is one of the highest investments made for most people, you should be represented by a Realtor. Your agent who is familiar with your situation, should have the best advice for you.
0
0
Answer Helpful?
5 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Cathy Wallis    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Your buyers agent should advise you of the necessary steps to submit an amendment back to the seller during the option period.
0
0
Answer Helpful?
5 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Terri Palmer    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
As everyone mentioned below, you need your buyer's agent to guide you thru the inspection issues. I always suggest to my clients to first ask for safety and health issues totaling less than $1k. However if the roof or foundation is not performing, it is a first request. Then consider, is the seller offering you a home warranty? If you have a number of issues and know you can request repair of the Home Warranty, then I would focus on those items the Home Warranty would not help with. Another consideration is have you offered a full price for the home, or more? Then I would request more repairs. But understand, a seller is not required to do any repairs! So this whole process is tricky and needs to be conducted with a gentle hand to assure the seller accommodates your repair needs. Good luck!
0
0
Answer Helpful?
6 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Charles Reid    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Your Buyer's Agent will do that for you. The contract provides the following: Unless otherwise agreed in writing: (i) Seller shall complete all agreed repairs and treatments prior to the Closing Date; and (ii) all required permits must be obtained, and repairs and treatments must be performed by persons who are licensed to provide such repairs or treatments or, if no license is required by law, are commercially engaged in the trade of providing such repairs or treatments. At Buyer's election, any transferable warranties received by Seller with respect to the repairs and treatments will be transferred to Buyer at Buyer's expense. If Seller fails to complete any agreed repairs and treatments prior to the Closing Date, Buyer may exercise remedies under Paragraph 15 or extend the Closing Date up to 5 days if necessary for Seller to complete the repairs and treatments. (Paragraph 15 is the default paragraph.)
0
0
Answer Helpful?
6 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by James Bollig    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
If you are the buyer, your real estate agent will review the inspection report with you and determine which items you want the seller to fix prior to closing. Your agent will submit your request to the seller's agent. The seller will then determine if they will fix your items. The repairs in question are negotiable with both parties at this point. The repair decision and costs will then be amended to your contract. The agreed upon repairs will be in writing and signed by both parties. The repairs must be made by a professional prior to closing. Thank you for your question.
0
0
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Donald Stark    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Whoever pays for the inspection is the owner of the information. If you are the seller and have ordered the inspection you will have a punch list of the things needed and can include them in your contract. If you are the buyer you will itemize the repairs in your inspection response form of the purchase and sale agreement. It is important to use the services of a professional real estate agent to insure that your needs are protested and properly represented
0
0
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Rick Hagood    |   Contact Me
Patricia, the inspector usually sends the inspection report to the seller because once you know who you are going to use as an inspector, they will contact the seller to have them sign a contract for the inspection and then get all of the contact information from the seller. The agent also gets a copy to go over with the client to make sure everything is OK. If there are major problems found on the inspection, then your agent will contact the seller and tell them that these items need to be repaired. If the seller does not want to make those repairs then you can cancel the contract. There is always an option fee made payable to the seller for the inspection period. You would lose that money as the seller gets to cash that check and it is usually for $100. If the seller makes the repairs, then you can move forward with the sale. Sometimes a seller cannot make the repairs but will lower the price in lieu of the repairs. It would be your decision at that point to accept or deny. Hope this answered your questions.
0
0
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Patricia (Trish) Witulski    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Hey Heather! Are you working with a Realtor? You should definitely be represented if the sellers have an agent. That particular Realtor should not be representing you both. Yes, there should be some written proof and some other options of making sure the place is secure and ready for your ownership! Also, you should discuss a Home Warranty....have you heard of those?
0
0
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
Heather Mueller
answer by Heather Mueller   
The roof showed hail damages, their agent who is apparently mine, says home owners had roof guy out that said no hail damage, but has no documents but a text... shouldn't the insurance company look and give us something in writing
0
0
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
Shelly Sierra
answer by Shelly Sierra   
Once your inspection is complete and you have reviewed the findings with your inspector, your Realtor writes up an amendment to the contract asking for your requested repairs per the inspection. This is done during your option period. Sometimes the seller will agree to all repairs and sometimes there is more negotiation involved. Other times the seller may offer funds in lieu of repairs. It is best to get your Realtors opinion and guidance through the process to make sure your concerns are addressed for your best interest.
0
1
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Karen McDowell    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
I suggest you hire an agent. That's the value of one, knowing what to do.
0
2
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Beverly Ford    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Hello Heather, Please ask your Realtor to submit an amendment to the seller asking for the items you would like to have repaired. This must be done before the option period is over. I hope you have good results.
0
2
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
answer by Joshua Marriott    |   Visit My Website   |   Contact Me
Ask your agent to submit a repair request using the contract amendment.
0
2
Answer Helpful?
10 months ago  |   Report   |   share
Please read Homes.com's Questions & Answers Community Guidelines.